Eyes That See / 1

B+W - Haivaro boys

Photo: Marta Henriques, Haivaro boys / Papua New Guinea (2009)
sup i papwa (THE LAND BELOW THE SUNSET)
Wakali, Papua New Guinea.
The children look old.
It’s the eyes.
Are they not carefree?
Over the last two years, I have encountered certain images in print and web media that gave me pause. At turns intriguing and captivating, the images elicited something that I couldn’t immediately describe,and so for a time I simply archived them for later investigation. Recently, I decided it was time to sit down and look at them with eyes that see, as we say in Portuguese: to look and really see something, and therefore derive meaning.  Together, text and image form a small album, of which herewith an example.

 

About Maria GC Aragão

Architect, part-time lecturer, external examiner. I am interested in spaces of collective memory, the visual arts and architecture’s potential to enable change. I practice at the intersection between meaning, aesthetics and commerce. As an external examiner I look to architecture as an act of translation

Leave a Reply

